9735 Wilshire Blvd Ste 407

Beverly Hills, CA 90212

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Body Procedures Near Beverly Hills, CA

OUR REVIEWS

Whether you're contemplating a life-changing surgery or a minimally invasive treatment, it's crucial that you place your trust in capable and compassionate hands. At J. Timothy Katzen, M.D. Beverly Hills, our skilled team, led by Dr. Timothy Katzen, is committed to providing you with nothing less than the absolute best in terms of quality care and pleasing results. With board certification in plastic surgery, Dr. Katzen has the credentials, surgical skill, artistic eye, and years of experience needed to finalize your aesthetic transformation. When researching a plastic surgeon to help you complete your cosmetic journey, reading real-life accounts from people just like you is often key to making your final choice. We invite you to browse through the many experiences of our wonderful patients so you can make the most informed decision possible.

Filter37 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 10, 2016

My husband met me before weight loss surgery and has been supportive regardless of my weight. I had weight loss surgery and ended up with sagging skin all over. I ended up having a tummy tuck, breast lift and breast augmentation. Now, my husband can't stop giving my compliments on how great I look. He's a big fan of Dr. Katzen as well as I am. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 03, 2016

After losing over 100 pounds, I worked out to try and tone my body but it didn't quite work out as I hoped for it to be. I went to Dr. Katzen for a butt and thigh lift. He's a skilled surgeon and is so very kind. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jul 09, 2015

Dr. Katzen is fabulous! He did such a great job on my abdominoplasty, my tummy is tight! He has such a great bedside manner and was always there for me. I have recommended many people to Dr. Katzen and will continue to do so!! Someday I hope to go back to him and have other procedures done too!Thanks so much for EVERYTHING! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 30, 2015

I first met Dr. Katzen about three years ago while working at a hospital. I have always been a very modest person and was very nervous about my appointment. I was amazed at how Dr. Katzen made me feel so comfortable. I truly never expected to be treated as well as he treated me, as he does all his patients. He does not make you feel rushed or hurried as some Dr.’s do. He listens and takes everything you have to say under great consideration. He listens to your fears and addresses them. Not to mention he has the best bedside manner and never makes you feel abnormal.Dr. Katzen has performed several procedures on me; Breast lift with augmentation and implants, Brachioplasty (upper arm lift), medial thigh lift, removal of Spider veins, and removal of a cyst (neuroma) on my left wrist. These procedures were done during two separate surgeries. Dr. Katzen would not risk doing all procedures at one time. His first and main concern is safety for his patients and sticks by that. Before going under anesthesia, my request to Dr. Katzen was to make my thighs extremely tight.  Be careful what you wish for, I have now been known to have the tightest thighs in Southern California!His aftercare was amazing. He is there for you all the time. You can call him directly with questions and he will see you if needed whenever possible. His staff was always there for me too. His expertise in pain management also helped in my recovery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 25, 2015

I was first introduced to Dr. Timothy Katzen at a support group meeting. He spoke about the possible need or desire for plastic surgery after weight loss. At that time, I was just beginning my journey, but after a loss of 100 pounds, I felt like it was necessary for me to go forward and have excess skin removed.From the first consultation meeting at Dr. Katzen’s office, I was very at ease and Dr. Katzen explained and answered all my questions. He made me feel very comfortable in such an awkward (to me anyways) situation. I proceeded with three surgeries. I had a neck lift, tummy tuck, torso and an arm lift. It was a journey, with all 3 surgeries, but a road well taken.Without the encouragement of Dr. Katzen and his great personality, and his office staff, I could not have done this. Also without my family and friends support, it would not have been possible. I am so thankful and blessed to have been able to be taken care of by such a great doctor and staff.Thank you so much for your care and concerns, and making me feel great about myself. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 04, 2015

My healthy life began when I had my gastric bypass surgery. Prior to the surgery I was on 11 different medications to control my diabetes and elevated blood pressure. I lost 130 lbs and was taken off all my medications. I started exercising a couple of months after the surgery to try to keep the skin from sagging, but it did not work. I then decided to have plastic surgery, a tummy tuck and breast reduction and breast lift.The gastric bypass surgery gave me a chance to live a healthier and longer life, which was the main reason for the surgery. I loved the change to my body and the fact that I could shop in the normal size clothes department. People no longer looked at me as a fat person but a normal person. I travel a lot with work and now I no longer needed the seat beat extension, that in itself was a great day. Even though I looked better in clothes I still saw the problem with the sagging skin.At this point I decided to start checking into plastic surgery. I went to 5 or 6 different doctors and finally decided to choose Dr. Timothy Katzen. Dr. Katzen specialized in weight loss patients and was familiar with the issues that surround us. I felt that he cared about his patients and listened to what I had to say.  I also, felt he had a supportive staff and that was important to me.  I had my tummy tuck and breast reduction and lift.At the recovery center I saw my new body for the first time and cried. I have never had a flat stomach and “perky” breasts. My life has only gotten better since the plastic surgery, I am now proud of my body, I may not be the smallest in the room but I feel like I am. Three months following the surgery I went on a 12 day cruise and Dr. Katzen encouraged me to get a bikini, which I did. It was so much fun looking at swimsuits that I would never had worn before. I wore it and did not feel I had to cover up my body and hide. I did wear my sunscreen to the parts of my body that never saw the sun.I am so thankful for the confidence that I have now as a result of the weight loss and the new body Dr. Katzen has given me.I can never thank him and his staff for the change in my life and the continued support. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 02, 2015

All my life, I was morbidly obese and had literally tried everything to lose weight but was never successful long term. Finally, I was looking at being wheel chair bound because my feet could no longer hold my weight.  In desperation, at the weight of 334 lbs, I had stomach stapling and thus my whole life changed.I lost 110 lbs and was indeed smaller but left with an enormous sagging apron of fat around my waist, severe stretch marks on my abdomen and multiple unsightly, old, and long, well healed surgical scars. My thighs remained large, flabby and out of proportion to my lower legs. I had lost weight, was remarkably healthier but looked even worse than before.I then met Dr. Katzen and had the lower body lift and liposuction. Twenty seven pounds of skin and fat were removed, along with my old scars. I had a new body.  I had never imagined that kind of "instant" weight loss and as thrilled as I was, it was also disturbing to my body image. All of a sudden, I had no huge stomach, my clothes hung well and no longer did I have to wear shirts on the outside to hide my belly. It took a while to absorb the change.Dr. Katzen and his entire office staff were supportive, up beat, ALWAYS professional and caring. I was never made to wait or feel rushed.I am very please with my results. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 01, 2015

So, how do you get to be 393 lbs and not play professional football? I also forgot to say that I was a 22 year old woman. I made the decision to have gastric bypass surgery and have not been the same person ever since. After losing 248lbs in a short period of time I found myself with a BIG problem, way too much skin.”I was referred to this doctor that turned out to be a saint, his name is Dr. Katzen. I have had a number of surgeries and lost over 18 – 20 pounds of skin. You know about 80 quarter pounders. The procedures include; Breast lift with augmentation and implants, Brachioplasty (upper arm lift) and a Circumferential Body Lift. I still have one more procedure left, a Thigh Lift. I would not think of going any where else but to Dr. Katzen.Why Dr. Katzen? He is an intelligent, patient and caring doctor that makes you feel like you are his only patient in life. He is a tireless professional that you can call in the middle of the night when you are in pain. He never has a bad day when it comes to dealing with patients. He said he would make me a new person and he did. It is nice to turn heads.Since going though all of this I have made the second most important decision of my life. I got married to the man of my dreams. I told Dr. Katzen that without what he has done for me that I would not have had the confidence to fall in love and open myself up. He gave me that confidence.I said earlier that I see Dr. Katzen as a saint and you will too after spending time with him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 28, 2015

I had Gastric Bypass surgery and I have lost 172 lbs. I first heard about Dr. Katzen at a support group meeting. A few of the women there had been patients of his. They said such great things about him, and then he came and gave us a presentation about what he could do. He had such a caring manner that I knew I would want to have him help me when the time came.Well it came and we met for him to do my first surgery a Bilateral Inverted T Abdominoplasty (cut from between breasts to pubes and from hip to hip). I was afraid of surgery, afraid of the pain, just plain afraid. Dr Katzen and his wonderful office staff were with me every step of the way. They made me feel comfortable and secure that all would be well. It was! The surgery was a breeze I had very little pain. I was a bit uncomfortable but able to deal with it no problem. The communication with the Dr. and his staff was great. I never had to explain who I was or what I had done they knew me and my issues and helped with everything.Before I had my surgery I met with a family friend who is a Plastic surgeon. I thought he was closer to my home and with being a friend it would cost less. Well after the meeting I decided that his charges were about the same and he didn’t have nearly as much experience with excessive skin. As you know I went with Dr Katzen and I am so happy. I LOVE MY NEW TUMMY!!!!!!!!! It looks wonderful, my girlfriend said I look like a teenager and my husband said it’s like having a Porsche. I would recommend Dr Katzen for his great skill and wonderful manner, but also for his support staff, they treat me so well. I am just getting ready to go in for my next surgery (arms and breasts) I can’t wait!!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 27, 2015

I had bariatric surgery and lost 125 lbs. I was so excited to have lost this much weight but so disappointed that my weight loss had a great deal of residual hanging skin. I had to wear loose blouses and pants to hide all the skin that was left over from losing weight so quickly. I attended a seminar and had a consultation with Dr. Katzen the same day.I had my first surgery exactly one year after my gastric bypass. I had a circumferential body lift and a medial thigh lift. My second surgery was a breast lift, and quite a bit of liposuction. Three weeks ago I had a TCA peel on my face and I am hoping to have another peel or some laser treatment.My experience with Dr. Katzen has always been very positive. I knew when I first consulted with him that I had met the surgeon I had been looking for. First of all, he has the proper credentials I was looking for.Dr. Katzen specializes in post op bariatric surgery patients and sculpturing the patient’s body while removing all the hanging skin. My only concern was my age since I am almost 64 but he said no problem as long as I was healthy. I asked if I was his oldest patient and he quickly replied no, his oldest patient was in his 70’s!I think you gain a lot of confidence just by going into his exam rooms. Each room is filled with diplomas and certificates on all the walls. Aside from all this, Dr. Katzen has a very gentle spirit and is a good listener. Do not be timid in asking him anything that may be bothering you because he always has the right answer. He genuinely cares about each patient and he makes you feel like you are the only one he has but then we all know how busy he is. He is always available to his patients. His staff is very competent and professional. They will get you the answer you need very quickly. I now can ride my bike for 6-7 miles and not even feel tired. I swim daily, I lift my grandchildren up in my arms. My husband and I have always wanted to take scuba diving lessons but I refused to get into a wet suit. Now I have nothing to hold me back. I believe that God has blessed Dr. Katzen with amazing talent and I am so very thankful that I was lead to find him.So I say to him again, muchas gracias Dr. Katzen. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 22, 2015

I had gastric bypass surgery when I was at a weight of 375 pounds. I functioned daily at my job of more than 20 years always standing and never stationary. Because of health problems I sought out help for my weight. I wanted to live….and live a better quality of life. After having gastric bypass surgery I started losing weight rapidly. In six months I lost 120 pounds. In two years I lost a total of 210 pounds (I shrunk).Dr. Katzen and I met and at that time we started planning my reconstructive surgery. I had my tummy tuck with him shortly after. I now look and feel tight. Dr. Katzen did a great job making me flat and tight. I could not be happier with my results!!! Thanks Doc!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 14, 2015

Like many of Dr. Katzen's patients, I had been overweight my entire life. My Gastric Bypass surgery was a life saver for me. I am in wonderful health after losing 170 pounds but I was still embarrassed about how I looked with the excess skin. In considering the choice of a Plastic Surgeon, I was very impressed with Dr. Katzen's expertise. I wanted a surgeon who works with people like me, not someone who is making movie stars! Dr. Katzen and his staff are the best. While my journey is not yet complete, I'm happy with the results of my first surgery. I had a circunferential body lift and liposuction on my thighs. I have a flat stomach for the first time in my life. I am so grateful for Dr. Katzen and his staff. Everyone has been wonderfully caring, compassionate, responsive and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 12, 2015

I had weight loss surgery at Cedar's Sinai Hospital. My highest weight was 315 pounds. I had several complications due to the excess weight includes, high blood pressure, diabetes, sleep apnea, infertility, and depression. Since my weight loss surgery, I have lost a total of 180 pounds. 140 pounds was in the first 18 months after surgery and I was left with unsightly and uncomfortable hanging skin. That's when I decided to see Dr. Katzen. As with weight loss surgery, I did my research. I consulted with 3 other surgeons prior to doctor Katzen and visited various websites in search of the right surgeon to meet my needs. Some told me that I was far beyond what plastic surgery could fix. And other's told me that they could help me with the loose skin, but they didn't have experience with WLS patients. When I saw Dr. Katzen, he was like a breath of fresh air. I was already discouraged about having surgery done, so I was so happy and excited to hear how familiar and experienced Dr. Katzen is with WLS patients. He talked with me, not at me, and made me feel at ease. He understood my concerns and truly listened to me with concern. I felt like I was with a long family friend, and I trusted him with my life. I had a circumferential body lift. Dr. Katzen removed approximately 20 pounds of excess skin and fat around my body and thighs and continued to loose another 10 pounds on my own. This makes my total weight loss of 180 pounds -- GONE FOREVER!! I went from originally wearing a plus size 30/32 to now wearing a petite size 2.I am a new woman now. I have self confidence that I never knew was in me. I feel great, I like looking in mirrors now, and shopping for clothes is the funnest thing I love to do! I am so grateful and completely happy with how Dr. Katzen has taken care of me. He truly understood my needs, and gave me the results that I always believed could never happen. Thank you Dr. Katzen!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 11, 2015

I have been “the fat girl” my entire life. I knew from the time I was 6 years old that I had an eating disorder that I allowed to control my life and get me binging on food uncontrollably. My life has been unmanageable and my sanity level as been nonexistent. I would eat food out of the trash if no one was looking. I have gained and lost over 1000 pounds on diets that just didn’t work. After being told that I “look like two of you from behind, Melissa” I just couldn’t stand it anymore. I became desperate and was told that I needed to gain another 20 pounds before I would be a candidate for any type of weight loss surgery. I began what would be the final binge on my way to WLS. I gained the weight but was told I was still not a candidate. Finally, I went through another means, when I was 26 years old to start loosing weight. My choice was a spiritually based program and I can happily tell you that G-d and I have given away 110 pounds. I worked so hard on why I eat what I eat and fixing me from the inside out. I decided that this would have to be a lifestyle choice and not a means of losing weight. I have been doing this for just about 9 years now and I was able to keep the weight off. After 7 years of working a strict food plan, I finally started working out and found a love of it that I just could NEVER get before. I knew that my choice to make this a new lifestyle was sealed. Now it was time to seek out the perfect surgeon that would understand me…….I started my search and spoke with 5 different doctors all chosen by a means of referral. I had 2 different people tell me about Dr. Katzen. I went and saw him a few years ago and had a body estimate done. Because of family/life circumstances, I had to put my plans on my body overhaul on hold. Finally, in February, I went back to him again and said, “I am READY!!” I was pleased when he noticed my attempts at working out and told me that the leg lift we had discussed in the past was no longer necessary. A doctor that didn’t want to do something unnecessary? I knew I was in the right place. (By the way, when my surgery actually happened and I was under, Dr. Katzen determined that I also did not need the breast lift which shorten my surgery by 1 ½ hours AND put money back in my pocket.)My surgery took place 1 month later. I was scheduled for 9 hours of surgery which included: abdominoplasty, breast lift and augmentation, and liposuction. I had NEVER had any surgery in my entire life and Dr. Katzen and his staff assured me that I would come out just fine. They shared their own experiences with me as far as their own cosmetic surgeries were concerned.Dr. Katzen was there for me as were his staff. If I needed anything, they all went above and beyond the call of duty, whether it was in the middle of the night or on a Saturday shipping a new garment to me during their day off. I received phone calls checking on me constantly as well as well wishes and words of encouragement.I just knew that I chose the right doctor for the job. His compassion and bedside manner is second to none. I have given his name and number to many people I know since then. The main reason I chose Dr. Katzen was because he understood the journey that this former fat girl made from the woman lost in skin to a beautiful swan. It was more than just the mommy make over. I was completing the transformation with an emotional choice that has since then changed my life and I am SOOOO grateful to Dr. Katzen for his beautiful work and his beautiful heart. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 11, 2015

I have been “the fat girl” my entire life. I knew from the time I was 6 years old that I had an eating disorder that I allowed to control my life and get me binging on food uncontrollably. My life has been unmanageable and my sanity level as been nonexistent. I would eat food out of the trash if no one was looking. I have gained and lost over 1000 pounds on diets that just didn’t work. After being told that I “look like two of you from behind, Melissa” I just couldn’t stand it anymore. I became desperate and was told that I needed to gain another 20 pounds before I would be a candidate for any type of weight loss surgery. I began what would be the final binge on my way to WLS. I gained the weight but was told I was still not a candidate. Finally, I went through another means, when I was 26 years old to start loosing weight. My choice was a spiritually based program and I can happily tell you that G-d and I have given away 110 pounds. I worked so hard on why I eat what I eat and fixing me from the inside out. I decided that this would have to be a lifestyle choice and not a means of losing weight. I have been doing this for just about 9 years now and I was able to keep the weight off. After 7 years of working a strict food plan, I finally started working out and found a love of it that I just could NEVER get before. I knew that my choice to make this a new lifestyle was sealed. Now it was time to seek out the perfect surgeon that would understand me…….I started my search and spoke with 5 different doctors all chosen by a means of referral. I had 2 different people tell me about Dr. Katzen. I went and saw him a few years ago and had a body estimate done. Because of family/life circumstances, I had to put my plans on my body overhaul on hold. Finally, in February, I went back to him again and said, “I am READY!!” I was pleased when he noticed my attempts at working out and told me that the leg lift we had discussed in the past was no longer necessary. A doctor that didn’t want to do something unnecessary? I knew I was in the right place. (By the way, when my surgery actually happened and I was under, Dr. Katzen determined that I also did not need the breast lift which shorten my surgery by 1 ½ hours AND put money back in my pocket.)My surgery took place 1 month later. I was scheduled for 9 hours of surgery which included: abdominoplasty, breast lift and augmentation, and liposuction. I had NEVER had any surgery in my entire life and Dr. Katzen and his staff assured me that I would come out just fine. They shared their own experiences with me as far as their own cosmetic surgeries were concerned. Dr. Katzen was there for me as were his staff. If I needed anything, they all went above and beyond the call of duty, whether it was in the middle of the night or on a Saturday shipping a new garment to me during their day off. I received phone calls checking on me constantly as well as well wishes and words of encouragement.I just knew that I chose the right doctor for the job. His compassion and bedside manner is second to none. I have given his name and number to many people I know since then. The main reason I chose Dr. Katzen was because he understood the journey that this former fat girl made from the woman lost in skin to a beautiful swan. It was more than just the mommy make over. I was completing the transformation with an emotional choice that has since then changed my life and I am SOOOO grateful to Dr. Katzen for his beautiful work and his beautiful heart. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 06, 2015

After gastric bypass surgery and losing 375 lbs I was concerned about the loose skin. After meeting Dr. Katzen he told me I'd be very happy with a body lift and he was right. I am very happy. He removed 40 lbs off of me and I lost 10 inches, and still counting. I spoke with two other surgeons before choosing Dr. Katzen and I made the right choice. He is not only a fantastic surgeon but a friend to all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 02, 2015

During my weight loss process I had always said that I would not get plastic surgery because I would have just been happy to lose the weight. As time went on and more and more weight came off, I found that my original statements just didn’t hold true. I did want to complete the process. I was so proud of what I had accomplished, and I knew that I deserved to have the body that I had always wanted.I first met Dr. Katzen at a conference. I was very impressed by his presentation, and his before and after photo’s just seemed to trump most of the other surgeons photo’s that I had seen. I knew this was the plastic surgeon for me!Since I live in Phoenix, AZ I found it necessary to communicate thru email, rather than travel back and forth. Dr. Katzen’s staff was excellent, and always made me feel like their most special patient. That spoke volumes to me. Soon I had a date to have the circumferential body lift, and a bi-lateral medial thigh lift. I flew to Los Angeles the day prior to my surgery and went to meet with Dr. Katzen. I was very nervous when the doctor came in to meet with me, but by the time I left his office I was at such peace with the procedure, and what to expect. Surgery went wonderfully, the hospital and staff was tremendous, and of course Dr. Katzen made certain that I was always very comfortable. I stayed in LA for a couple more days prior to flying home, and continued to have a very normal recovery.Today when people meet me they would never know that I had been morbidly obese, let alone have had plastic surgery. I’m able to wear the kind of clothing that I want to wear, shop where I want to, and I have the confidence in my body that I was looking for.Thank you to Dr. Katzen for helping me to achieve my desired look. You are the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 28, 2015

In April, 2004 I had WLS by Dr. Tanaka. My life changed dramatically as I went from 352 lbs. down to 190 within 1 ½ years. I was a changed woman … free from the bondage of bad food habits and free to be physically fit without the restrictions of my own body.I attended an Obesity Help conference in Orange County in 2005 in order to learn more about reconstructing my body. How exciting and rewarding it was to hear Dr. Katzen speak to not only my needs, but to my heart as well. My husband and I both felt as we heard Dr. Katzen that he understood the issues of patients concerning cosmetic surgery after WLS surgery. During this past year I have had the following procedures: circumferential body lift, inner thigh lift, breast and arm lift, eye-lid lift.As I read over the testimonials of other of Dr. Katzen’s patients they all seem the same… he is caring, knowledgeable, patient, kind, etc. etc. etc. But guess what? He REALLY is all of these things and much, much more! Added to all of his strengths as my surgeon are the strengths of his staff. I have enjoyed interacting with them both on the phone and face-to-face.During one of my follow-up visits with Dr. Katzen I was thanking him for changing my life and making me a different person. He responded with, “Laura, you are the same great person. I was just involved in changing the outside.” For the first time I can contradict him. I am a different person, indeed! I walk in confidence, knowing that Dr. Katzen and his staff have provided me with the tool (a changed body) that reflects the work I have put in through the entire WLS process as I have followed the dietary guidelines as well as the physical exercise plans. My inner self has changed as well as the outside. I walk in newness of life and I enjoy a better lifestyle.Who do I ultimately thank? I am a committed believer in God and I walk closely with Him. I know that he directed me to the best surgeon for me. I believe He was with Dr. Katzen in the operating room as Dr. Katzen applied his skilled hands and his training and knowledge to my body. And I believe that Dr. Katzen and God make a great team in meeting my needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 21, 2015

After I lost weight after bariatric surgery I was healthier but I hated my loose skin. I love to swim and hated to get into a swimming suit. I am so much happier now that I have had the body lift. Life is so much better. I am so glad I had it done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 08, 2015

This is from Kate reporting with incredible amazement at the ease, comfort and lack of fear I received from the professionals beginning with preoperative office appointments to the nurses, anesthesiologist and Dr Katzen who even won over my husband who with me was reluctant to adventure into another surgery. As for the outcome of the repair of my abdominal hernia and tummy tuck, I healed beautifully without a single negative event.  I fully knew and was prepared to do the right things every step of the way.  Today nearly six weeks later, I no longer suffer daily nausea and abdominal cramping-- not even needing to use laxatives and stool softeners.  For the first time in over 4-yrs since my bariatric bypass, I can now 'burp' and 'oh what a relief it is'.  And of course, I must not forget to mention that I have no further problems with a 'hangover the waist bulging' making my clothes fit much better.  Thanks again for the individual attention and care, it meant a lot to me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 06, 2015

I cannot recommend Dr. Katzen highly enough. He truly listens to you, he is just as excited about the results as you are and will work to help you be the very best you can.His office staff is friendly, knowledgeable and will work with your insurance company to get as much done for you as they can. I have done both my abdominoplasty and medial thigh lift and will be doing the backside and outer thighs soon. I remember how excited he was when he did the first surgery and each time as they put me under the last thing I remember is him holding my hand. You cannot find a more caring, knowledgeable and talented surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 03, 2015

After losing 219 lbs I decided I had no choice but to get reconstructive surgery. I looked at 3 plastic surgeons before I chose Dr Katzen. I went to 2 of his seminars and meet many of his patients. He is very knowledgable and caring. When I had a consult with him he made me feel very comfortable and he is very confident in his work. I had a lower body lift and thigh lipo on June 5th and on Aug 28th I had a mons lift and a thigh lift. All my reconstructive surgery turned out excellent, especially my flat stomach. Never in my life have I had a flat stomach. I walk around trying to show family and friends my new stomach. I love my new belly button...I have some friends and work acquaintances that want to meet him for consultation after seeing the work he did on me. I healed great and had no complications.I I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Dr Katzen. I will be having my a BL/BA and arm lift next year with Dr Katzen. He is a Miracle Worker. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 02, 2015

I met with a dear friend the other day. He had gone through the bypass surgery and has lost a lot of weight. He is ready to have the extra skin removed but is scared about the surgery. Two years after my bypass surgery I wanted to get rid of the extra skin left hanging all over my body. I was ashamed and embarrassed with my body.I had reached my goal weight and I interviewed several plastic surgeons. Bariatric patients are a special branch of plastic surgery and not all plastic surgeons have dealt with our special needs. My husband and I came to the same conclusion. Dr. Katzen impressed us both with his quite professional voice and manner.Doctor talked with me, not “down” to me. He treated my husband and I like “family” and truly listened to all my questions. We never felt rushed. He explained the whole process. He was honest and made me feel safe.I told my friend Dr. Katzen would be his best surgical choice. This is a big decision. I had gone to the internet, talked to people who already had plastic surgery. I wrote down some questions and concerns I wanted answered. Dr. Katzen took the time to answer all my questions.Dr. Katzen is dedicated to people who have had bypass surgery. Even though he has dealt with thousands of bypass patients he is caring, patient, intelligent and professional with each and every one of us. He was available when I called him with post op questions. I can’t say enough about him. He is kind, sensitive, good, genuine and has a beautiful bedside manner. He cares beyond any normal doctor. His integrity rates the highest on any scale. He is one of the most ethical people I have ever met. He made me feel as if I was his only priority.I had a lower body lift that took off 14 pounds of excess skin. I never thought I would have a flat tummy again. I love it. I also had my upper arms done. I can now wear tank tops and feel normal. When we went to Hawaii I did not need to ask the steward for a seat belt extension. I wore a bathing suit for the first time in thirty years. To say Dr. Katzen is an excellent surgeon is not strong enough of a statement.Plastic surgery has changed my life. I highly recommend that you call him and you too will pick the right surgeon. I could not be more pleased with my results and the way I was treated by Dr. Katzen and his staff. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 19, 2015

It has been a month and a couple of days since my surgery. I am so excited and pleased with the results of my abdominoplasty (tummy tuck).The surgery went even better than expected with no surprises and my recovery has been quick and pain free. My entire experience has been amazing and can't believe how great I look and how quickly I have recuperated. Dr. Katzen significantly changed the appearance of my loose skin, and stretch marks in my abdominal area. I have a completely flat tummy...Hey!! He has given me a new body. I am fortunate to have found such a wonderful, brilliant and gifted surgeon who's making his patients look and feel better. Thank you Dr. Katzen for a memorable experience with plastic surgery. Your skills and ability to turn dreams into reality are amazing. You and your staff are examples of what the practice of medicine and patient care should be. I am extremely happy with the results of my surgery. I would recommend Dr. Katzen to anyone. He is an awesome plastic surgeon! Now I can truly say I have a Body by Katzen! In the future, if I need anything else done, I wont hesitate to come back! Thank you again for changing my life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 18, 2015

I had Gastric Bypass in April 2006 and had lost over 100 pounds. My body bounced back pretty well from the weight loss with the exception of my tummy area and the breasts. So I decided to look into the possibility of plastic surgery. I went to a few consultations however some plastic surgeons made me feel uncomfortable while others just didn't leave much of an impression. When I met Dr. Katzen at a weight loss seminar, I scheduled a free consult right away. I felt so comfortable with him immediately!
Dr. Katzen in 2008 performed a tummy tuck, breast reduction/lift and implants to give me the fullness at the top of the breast that I wanted. He listened to exactly what I wanted and that is exactly what I got!!I am so glad that I chose Dr. Katzen as my surgeon and I cannot be happier with my results. He makes every patient feel special and he spends the amount of time you need to get all of your questions answered. He is patient, gentle, kind and his bedside manner is TOP NOTCH. I have recommended Dr. Katzen to many of my friends and will continue to recommend him to anyone who is looking for a genuinely sweet, caring, talented plastic surgeon. He transforms your body into what you could have only dreamed of! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 27, 2015

Four years ago I had gastric bypass surgery and lost a total of 160lbs. Although I was extremely happy about the weight loss, I was very disappointed with the amount of extra skin on my body. I had difficulty finding clothes that fit properly and was actually more embarrassed to get into a bathing suit at 170 lbs than I was at 330 lbs, because of all the excess skin.I started researching various options and doctors and was referred to Dr. Katzen's web site.   I attended one of his seminars and knew immediately that he was the doctor that I had been looking for. I had seen many of his patient's before and after pictures that were very impressive, and met individuals that traveled across the country to attend this particular seminar.  Which was all impressive in itself.  However, it was our one-on-one consultation following the seminar that really made an impact on me.  He explained everything clearly, listened carefully to my questions, and just seemed to understand exactly where I was coming from and what my struggles had been.  Over the past two months, I have had a circumferential body lift, medial thigh lift and a breast lift/augmentation. His whole staff has been incredible. I was able to reach the staff when needed, and even received a call back from Dr. Katzen on the weekend when a question arose regarding one of my meds.  Everyone has been patient, understanding, and Dr. Katzen continued to be available and comforting throughout this entire process.Thanks so much!” More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 25, 2015

I can say “thank you” a million times, but in my opinion that does not even begin to convey the impact you’ve had in my life and the tummy tuck you performed on me. The transformation is amazing!! The change in my everyday life is surreal. I can’t believe the new life I am living today. My mood has changed, I am genuinely HAPPY rather than the to be known as the fat jolly girl.The whole procedure was no where close to what I had imagined and I am glad you gave the confidence and reassurance I needed to have the courage to undergo the “BEST” thing I have ever done for myself. I am almost 40 years old and did not look this great when I was 20. Thank you for giving me back 20 years of my life. When I see my friends that I have known since high school, I’ve been told, “You look so pretty now. What did you do to yourself?”The slight discomfort if any is not even comparable to my severe menstrual cramps. I’ll be darned if I let that gut grow back. This whole transformation has reprogrammed my attitude towards food, exercise and the importance of my general well-being. Some of someone else’s life simple things are now simple for me too like getting a pedicure. Now, I can just wave my feet in the air rather than struggle turning from side to side because my abdomen was too large and very uncomfortable, not having to hide behind my kids to take a picture in the hope that my gut would go unnoticed. I have a full view of my body and love every minute of my new life. Thank you Dr. Katzen for giving me a “jump start” to a better looking and healthier “me”. You are a wonderful and kind human being and a great and highly ethical surgeon. I had the best of both worlds and may God bless you always so you may continue your mission and those who are treated by you to have the same experience I did, which is beyond belief. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 24, 2015

First of all I would like to thank Dr. Katzen and his staff for their help and support in answering my questions and taking great care of needs through out this process.My life has changed a great deal through the weight loss and after having the abdominoplasty. I can now see that the effort and sometimes physical discomfort was well compensated by my results and my new out look for my future and new body.Much thanks! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 23, 2015

My name is Mike. A couple of years ago I weighed 430 lbs. I was wearing size 6XL. My life was a mess. I had diabetes, depression, sleep apnea and no social life among things, because of my weight I was treated different than people of normal size. It was not pleasant. I tried to not let it get to me but it did. I decided to lose the weight (again). I ate salads, chicken and fish. No fast foods. In little over a year I lost 180 lbs. Now I was faced with a different problem, one that was just as bad or worse than being heavy. I had skin hanging all over me. It hung below my shirt and people again were making remarks about me. I had to do something. A friend of my parents said he knew a doctor I could call to do surgery to remove the skin. I called but could not reach that doctor but someone there gave me the name of Dr. Katzen. I gave his office a call, made an appointment to see him. This appointment was the BEST THING that ever happened to me. Dr. Katzen was so understanding. He knew exactly what I had been going through and told me how he would help me become the person I have always wanted to be. He covered everything I could possibly want to know. He would listen to what I had to say even if I asked him ten times over. He never rushed me or failed to answer any of my questions. I have never met a doctor as gentle, understanding and caring as Dr. Katzen. I did not research the internet or see other doctors. You just know when you have the BEST and I did. Dr. Katzen’s experience and knowledge is second to none. I am so grateful to him and his staff especially Jane who was always there for me.Dr. Katzen performed a circumferential body lift on me this past July I am now wearing size L shirts and my pants size dropped from size 52 to 40. I cannot tell you how happy I am with my life now. I no longer have diabetes and people treat me so much better. I do not get smug looks and smirks any longer. I am so glad that I found Dr. Katzen. He has been a life saver. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 20, 2015

Dr. Katzen literally changed my life. After working hard to lose over 150 pounds, I was so disappointed in the way I looked, because I had so much saggy, excess skin, especially around my middle. I met Dr. Katzen and immediately knew he was the best, most qualified, and kindest doctor I had ever met. He performed a circumferential body lift and inner thigh lift on me. He was able to remove 26 pounds of extra skin and fat. Not only is he incredibly talented in plastic surgery, but he genuinely cares about his patients. He responded very quickly to my phone calls and emails. He is a true artist. I am so amazed with my results and sometimes can't believe that beautiful woman in the mirror is me! I can't thank him enough! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 19, 2015

I first met Dr. Katzen at an Obesity Help Convention. After interviewing several surgeons I was most impressed with Dr. Katzen’s demeanor. Although I saw how kind he was with potential patients what caught my eye was how loving he was towards his wife and child. I chose Dr. Katzen not only for his humble, kind and compassionate bedside manner but also for his experience and extensive knowledge of the issues unique to post gastric bypass patients. Furthermore, I am also one of Jehovah’s Witnesses and do not accept blood transfusions, Dr. Katzen fully respects my beliefs knowing full well the risks involved with taking me on as a patient.So far I have had a circumferential body lift and a thigh lift. My recovery has been difficult and longer then I hoped. Dr. Katzen and his staff have been kind to explain and ease my fears, on this journey to redefine me. Dr. Katzen could look at my body and envision the beauty within. I am very grateful that Dr. Katzen and his staff truly care not only during surgery but also during my times of recovery. The emotional support has been invaluable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 13, 2015

Dr. Katzen is one of the most amazing plastic surgeons I have come to know in my journey for my body transformation. Dr. Katzen and his staff are a wonderful team of very professional, kind, attentive and caring individuals. I highly respect Dr. Katzen as a person and as an exceptional surgeon.I had gastric bypass surgery in December 2003 and lost 90 lbs. I had a lot of excess skin and the issues that result from it. I consulted a couple of plastic surgeons before meeting with Dr. Katzen. From the moment I met Dr. Katzen, I knew he was the plastic surgeon that I wanted to help me continue my journey to reshape my body after my dramatic weight loss.He is one of the kindest people you will ever meet and he makes you feel that you and your health and safety, are the most important thing to him. He has an excellent bedside manner and exceptional surgical skills. I feel his results are amazing. You can tell that he is proud of his work and enjoys giving his patients the desired results we deserve after our weight loss success. His appointments are never rushed and you have his full attention at each meeting. He gladly answers all questions and makes you feel like his most important patient.I had a circumferential body lift and medial thigh lift 11/29/06, and am very pleased with the results. A total of 28 lbs. was removed.My results are more amazing than I could have imagined. I am planning on more surgery with Dr. Katzen to continue my transformation.Thank you Dr. Katzen for believing in me and making my dream of a skinny me come true. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 11, 2015

I’ve known Dr. Katzen for over a year. I met him through my doctor for lap band and I’ve been very happy with his work on reducing my very large breasts to a perfect C cup. I am also waiting for a tummy tuck and I feel really strong that the procedure will be a success. Dr. Katzen’s mannerism is very young and hip, he’s with the style and very friendly and pleasure to be around. I thank him in advance for future treatments. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 03, 2015

Dr. Katzen helped change my life. After my lower body lift, I went from a size 12 to a size 4. I love shopping and have the packed closet to prove it. My self-esteem has greatly increased, and I enjoy going out and not having to worry about my size. I can wear clothes without having to constantly tug and pull to make sure everything is covered and looks ok. I have become more accepting of myself. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 29, 2015

I had a gastric bypass in August of 2006, I weighed 254 at the time. After keeping the weight off I decided to see Dr Katzen for the 360 Body lift. I cannot believe it's my body! My biggest problem is keeping my clothes on because I'm so happy I want to show everyone! Awesome surgeon, gifted hands, great bedside manner. You will not regret your decision to work with Dr Katzen. I sure didn't! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 22, 2015

My name is Jacki and I had the RNY gastric bypass 4.5 years ago. I went from 365lbs. down to 230lbs. Even though I was so happy with my results, nothing prepared me for how much excess skin, fat, and tissue I would still have. I was heartbroken because I had done all of this hard work to lose weight and feel normal, yet I still got stares; now they weren't from being morbidly obese, but because I had all of this unattractive hanging skin.About 2.5 years ago I started to do my research and came across Dr.Katzen as one of my prospect surgeons. I had my consult and to be honest, he was nothing as I had imagined. Most doctors (especially in the Beverly Hills area) are all about the money. Dr.Katzen is not only one of kindest doctors I have met, but his artistic skills are impecable. Then, to make things even better, I got to see his work shine on TLC's The Real Skinny. Right then and there, I knew Dr.Katzen was the only surgeon I would trust my body with.I have had multiple surgeries with Dr.Katzen that was staged into 3 different surgeries. I had a 360 body lift with staged liposuction of the medial thighs. An arm lift with a horizontal torsoplasty and the final surgery was a medial thigh lift. Dr.Katzen had amazing bedside manner and was very patient with me throughout the entire journey. More

4.8
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 15, 2009

I lost 180 lbs from gastric bypass surgery before Dr. Katzen worked his miracles on me. I'd thought WLS would be have been the biggest change in my life, but since reconstructive surgery, I can tell you that this process is far more radical. Recovery from plastic surgery happens on the physical, emotional and spiritual levels -- all at the same time. Fortunately for me, Dr. Katzen is a gifted, compassionate, patient and understanding surgeon who understands how to treat his patients needs on all three planes. I had brachioplasty & breast lift w/augmentation and I am thrilled with the results. My scars are fading more and more each day and I don't think about them anymore. As a matter of fact, I can't remember what I looked like before reconstruction! I only know that Dr. Katzen helped to form a beautiful new "me" out of a very misshapen bunch of skin, and I am eternally grateful that I was fortunate enough to be under his care. I recommend him highly to anyone struggling w/extra skin. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.